Gramps The Vamp

by Gramps The Vamp

supported by
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    ****SPECIAL DEAL**** If you purchase this album now, we will deduct whatever you pay from the price of CD and Vinyl when they become available. So don't wait!

     $7 USD  or more




Gramps The Vamp sounds like something you'd hear when twisting the radio dial to an unknown spot at midnight in a strange city. The Chicago 7 piece mixes sinister afrobeat-influenced funk with apocalyptic utterances from classic Sci-Fi and Horror radio drama for a surreal stew they like to call Doom Funk.

Assembled by Keyboardist Maxx McGathey in the fall of 2011, Gramps The Vamp arose from its sweaty house party roots to become a staple in the Chicago music scene, regularly playing prominent venues such as the Double Door, Martyrs, and Metro. In 2013 Gramps was voted Best New Band in the Chicago Reader's Best Of Chicago poll, confirming a greater visibility in their hometown.

After several lineup changes over the years, Gramps The Vamp settled into a 7 piece for their forthcoming self-titled release. Recorded at Killion Sound, in North Hollywood, CA with producer Sergio Rios (Orgone), the album features McGathey on keys, Stevenson Valentor on drums, Kevin Holt on bass, Mike Novak on guitar, Peter Gillette on trumpet, Nick Bush on alto sax, Justin Howe on tenor sax, as well as frequent collaborator Eli Wilson on bari sax for a few songs. Gramps The Vamp has their sights set on national distribution as well as sporadic touring in support of their release.


released 02 September 2014

All music written, arranged and performed by Gramps The Vamp. All voices are sampled from radio theater and film in the public domain (for a complete list of sources please email us). Recorded and mixed by Sergio Rios at Killion Sound in North Hollywood, CA. Mastered by Matthew Barnhart at Chicago Mastering Service. Produced by Gramps The Vamp and Sergio Rios.

Gramps The Vamp is. . .
Maxx McGathey - Keys, Samples
Kevin Holt - Bass
Stevenson Valentor - Drums, Percussion
Mike Novak - Guitar
Peter Gillette - Trumpet
Nick Bush - Alto Sax
Justin Howe - Tenor Sax

Eli Wilson - Bari Sax on track 1, 3, and 6

Gramps The Vamp would like to thank Sergio Rios, Mich Shirey, Eli Wilson, Brent Shumard, Alex Benson, Ron & Brenda McGathey, and all you folks that have supported us at our shows over the years!

Cover Photo by Justin Howe. On the cover: The Keith House,



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist